Which countries are part of Interpol

Interpol, which stands for International Criminal Police Organization, is an international organization that aims to enhance cooperation between law enforcement agencies across the world. It was founded in 1923 and currently has 194 member countries. Interpol serves as a vital tool in the global fight against crime, terrorism, and other security threats. In this article, we will take a closer look at the countries that are members of Interpol.

Interpol Membership

As of 2021, Interpol has 194 member countries spread across the globe. These countries span several continents and include most of the world’s sovereign states. Interpol membership is open to any country that shares the organization’s values and is willing to cooperate with other member countries to promote international security.

The list of Interpol member countries is always subject to change as new countries join or leave the organization. Some of the most recent additions to Interpol’s membership include South Sudan, Palestine, and Kiribati.

Countries in Interpol by Continent

Interpol member countries are spread out across various continents. Here is a breakdown of Interpol member countries according to their respective continents:


Europe has the largest number of Interpol member countries, with a total of 50. These countries include major world powers such as the United Kingdom, France, and Germany. Other European countries that are part of Interpol include Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Hungary, Italy, and Poland, among others.


Asia has 45 member countries, including countries such as China, India, Japan, and South Korea. Other Asian countries that are part of Interpol include Afghanistan, Iran, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia.


There are 54 Interpol member countries in Africa. These countries include Algeria, Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and Tanzania, among others. Africa has the highest number of Interpol member countries of any continent.


The Americas have 35 member countries, including the United States, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, and Argentina, among others. Other American countries that are part of Interpol include Colombia, Chile, and Uruguay.


Oceania has 10 Interpol member countries, including Australia and New Zealand. Other countries in Oceania that are part of Interpol include Fiji, Papua New Guinea, and Samoa.

Benefits of Interpol Membership

Interpol membership comes with numerous benefits for member countries. Some of these benefits include:

  1. Global Cooperation – Interpol membership allows countries to work together to identify and combat global threats including cybercrime, terrorism, and transnational organized crime.
  2. Access to International Databases – Interpol gives member countries access to its databases, which help in identifying criminals, stolen goods, and missing persons.
  3. Training and Technical Assistance – Interpol provides training and technical assistance to law enforcement agencies in member countries to help them improve their crime-fighting capabilities.
  4. Alerts and Notices – Interpol issues alerts and notices that help law enforcement agencies across the world to identify and locate criminals and dangerous threats.


Interpol is a crucial organization in the fight against crime and terrorism across the world. Its membership comprises of 194 countries that work together to identify, investigate, and prosecute criminal activities. Countries in Interpol come from different continents and include major world powers, developing countries, and island states. Being a member of Interpol comes with numerous benefits, including global cooperation, access to international databases, training and technical assistance, and alerts and notices.

Iryna Berenstein
Associated Partner
Mrs. Berenstein is a distinguished and outstanding lawyer with profound experience and exceptional legal knowledge in the field of International Private Law, Financial Law, Corporate Law, investment regulation, Compliance, Data Protection, and Reputation Management.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many countries are members of INTERPOL?
Our full name is the International Criminal Police Organization and we are an inter-governmental organization. We have 196 member countries, and we help police in all of them to work together to make the world a safer place.
Is the UK part of INTERPOL?
INTERPOL, the International Criminal Police Organization, is a global law enforcement body that aims to enhance transnational police cooperation against crime, with the UK as a member.
Does INTERPOL work in China?
The global nature of these crimes and their connection to worldwide networks underscore the crucial role of China's INTERPOL National Central Bureau (NCB) in ensuring national and regional security.
What countries are not in the Interpol?
Each country has an INTERPOL National Central Bureau (NCB) connecting their police to a global network. Non-member sovereign countries include Bhutan, North Korea, Micronesia, Palau, Samoa, San Marino, Solomon Islands, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, and the Vatican.
Is Russia a member of INTERPOL?
INTERPOL Russia operates 80 regional units nationwide, each supplying the main Moscow NCB with criminal intelligence from local investigations and operations.